Hispanic professional society & diversity job fairs at NSHP.org

I graduated in 2007 with a Masters degree (communication Arts) and its been really hard to find work .. It kills me because i have a good portfolio and some experience. Either i am told i have little experience or over experienced there is no in between. I have experience but haven't been working full-time in my field recently due to the fact that i went back to school full-time. Any suggestions . I go to job fairs ,networking parties and my resume is on many job boards but still no luck. I need to work to survive but am afraid to just get a job anywhere because i don't want it to hurt my resume and hurt my chances of getting a job as a Graphic Designer. I am looking for entry-level work to get my foot back into the door.

Views: 682

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I took a job one hour away highway miles so that I could get some field experience while I go to school. I now have 2 1/2 years of field experience in counseling domestic violence and sexual assault victims. This is great, but the commute is killing me. And the other down side is that I AM STILL IN SCHOOL pursuing my bachelors in counseling. You might have to take something unrelated with a really good firm to get your foot in, then transfer into the right place once you're in. Good luck.
Connie
IIts been rough its either i am underexperienced or too experienced i hope there is a light at the end of the tunnel. i am going on two years looking. I tried even as an admin its just too hard too find. no one is hiring i guess keep on trying until it happens or doesnt